History d’Ouffenhoff and about us
Under the name of ‘Hoeve Bongers’, the unique 17th century square farmhouse has already been occupied by the Bongers family for three generations. In 1998 Twan and Karin Bongers started the conversion of the agricultural Farmhouse into a stylish and welcoming holiday home.
We feel privileged that we were able to take over this great company. Since the 1st of June 2014, Hoeve Bongers returned to its original name dating from 1702: d’Ouffenhoff.
In the year 2000 we have changed the known course and started a fantastic adventure in the French region of Auvergne. Wholeheartedly, with much love and care, we have helped Domaine les Gandins grow to a successful, small-scale tourist establishment with cottages, open air Lodges, guest houses and French kitchen. Looking for a new challenge and with a feeling of nostalgia as well as pride, we sold ‘our baby’. We did this so that we could return to our homeland and devote our experience and passion towards a new adventure. Ergfoedlogies d’Ouffenhoff.
The history of d’Ouffenhoff
Since time immemorial, two farmhouses have belonged to the castle, ‘De Berckt’, namely Douvenhof and Friedeshof, derived from Godefriedus van Berk.
Douvenhof farmhouse was located next to the castle and was occupied by the Olnes family, in the area that is now the current vegetable garden of the De Berckt castle.
After the demolition of this farm, the name was taken over by the present farmhouse, which is situated a few hundred meters south of the castle.
This name, namely d’Ouffenhoff, had already been used in the 17th and 18th century. In an archived document, dated the 1st of May 1702, J.A.G. van Hardenraedt-de Rhoe admitted to owing Freule of Meerwyck De Borcht 50 ‘pattacons’, resulting from the usufruct of d’Ouffenhoff’.
This may raise the question: How did the farm get its name? It was named d’Ouffenhoff by the owner when, in 1630, the Farmhouse gained possession of a piece of land from Douven or D’Ouffen, ‘de grote Berckt’ – as the farm was formerly called.